Annual Angel Breakfast 2020 | Credit: Enzo Bertolini

This Wednesday, 14 of October, Visagio proudly joined Perth Angels at their Annual Angel Breakfast 2020. We had the pleasure to hear from strong leadership voices, such as Shelley Cable, Chief Executive Officer of Generation One (Minderoo Foundation); Katharine Giles, Venture Partner at Brand Capital Partners and CEO of OncoRes Medical; Olivia Humphrey, Kanopy founder;  Kym Atkins, CEO at The Volte, Leslie Delaforce, Indigenous Entrepreneurship Lead at Minderoo Foundation; and Matthew Pavlich, founder of Pickstar and former AFL athlete.

The Minister for Innovation and ICT, the Hon Dave Kelly, opened the event making a statement of the importance of supporting diversity among investor and start-ups. “We want to see more women being supported as founders of start-ups. We want to see more women investors. We want to see more investors and start-ups from indigenous backgrounds. We want to make sure that we are really tacking in the great talent that we have here in Western Australia.”

Generation One CEO, Shelley Cable | Photo Credit: Emma Dolzadelli

At the event it was launched the Indigenous Angel Investor and Indigenous Entrepreneur Masterclasses, a Generation One and Perth Angels funded program that seeks to address the barriers Indigenous entrepreneurs face in accessing investment, and in becoming investors themselves. According to Ms Cable, there are countless challenges and obstacles for Indigenous Australians entrepreneurs in accessing investment to make indigenous businesses grow and generate jobs. “Running in parallel over two days in November, these two pilot masterclasses will provide world-class education and mentoring. (…) If the pilot is successful, we hope the program has the potential to be expanded across the country.”

Visagio incentives diversity and inclusion among its consultants and is always improving its programs to better represent the community. The company was represented at the Annual Angel Breakfast by Wilson Casado, Monique Mattos Vimercatti, Priscila Brasil and Eduardo Possato.